US Audio MartUS Audio Mart
It is currently Fri Nov 17, 2017 2:56 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours

PostPosted: Wed Oct 18, 2017 2:54 pm 

I have been messing with needle drops for about 18 months and am getting fantastic results. Some (most) of my digital recordings sound to me better (more tone both ends, FAT bass and highs that sometimes allow me to guess ACCURATELY if they are Ziljan or Paiste, better vocal / lyric comprehension, and never fatiguing, where the industry release CD of the same album seems thin, smeared, radio edits re-masters and re-mixes, all sound BAD compared to a nice needle drop of some great original scratch and dirt free 1969 LP.

How do 'they' do it ?

PostPosted: Thu Oct 19, 2017 6:19 am 

just from my listening experience.....your getting better results because your original vinyl will hopefully be from a master tape.... if u did a needle drop on a vinyl from todays re-issues,you will probably get cd type results. the cd's can mostly be dubbed down lower generation transfers..hence,the bad sound...if i make a cassette tape from my amazing vinyl rig(nottingham analogue hyperspace,kiseki purple heart) into my nakimichi tape deck from an original pressing of fleeetwood mac rumors..it will blow away most,not all, but most cd;s found out there...regards andy

PostPosted: Thu Oct 19, 2017 6:20 am 

and id rather have tics and pops but the instrument sound correct than a cd that is harsh and nothing sounds correct

PostPosted: Thu Oct 19, 2017 1:09 pm 

sharethemusic wrote: