US Audio MartUS Audio Mart
It is currently Fri Nov 17, 2017 2:50 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours

PostPosted: Thu Nov 09, 2017 12:42 pm 

I took a chance on an e bay auction last week.

A Nakamichi 410 Preamplifier, looked a bit moldy in the photos, Im not afraid of mould.

Its doing a lot right compared to the 4 or 5 other mid level, pre amps I have been using for the last 2 years.

Could it sound better then the Yamaha C4 I have ????? unlikely but ...synergy....

$135 to my door, a $5 squirt of deoxit and it seems to be working like new :D

The blurry photo is mine, the clear photo I found on the WWW.

seems some parts are different ?

Attachments:
nakamichi-410-3.jpg
nakamichi-410-3.jpg [ 181.17 KiB | Viewed 291 times ]
IMG_0882.JPG
IMG_0882.JPG [ 198.42 KiB | Viewed 293 times ]

PostPosted: Sat Nov 11, 2017 10:36 am 

@OP, yes, your example seems to have a power transformer.

sheabatter wrote:

Guess that was Revision 1.

PostPosted: Sat Nov 11, 2017 10:44 am 

Toby wrote:
@OP, yes, your example seems to have a power transformer.

sheabatter wrote:

Guess that was Revision 1.

Is a power transformer a good or bad thing ?

should I have it removed and replaced with something ?

or is it ok as is ?

PostPosted: Sat Nov 11, 2017 2:20 pm 

OK, I was kidding a bit, above.

sheabatter wrote:

or is it ok as is ?

The thing I think is a power transformer is the big black flat cylinder behind the metal partition in the unit's top left corner, in the lower (blurry) photo.

Some preamps have switching power supplies, but most don't. A switching power supply does not have a big heavy power transformer, but the more common linear PS does have one. In fact, it needs one very badly, as a first stage in the conversion of alternating current from the wall, to direct current, which can subsequently be made into music.